La beauté de la fatigue et le frisson de la conquête

Nova Eroica is the result of passion for a town, its territory and traditions, for courtesy and for everything that cycling and its story represent. It started out in Buonconvento, a context in which everything comes together like a magical puzzle.

THANKS to everybody, to the volunteers who were directly involved, to the institutions, sponsors and, especially, to the extraordinary hospitality that comes naturally to this small, magnificent community.

Giancarlo Brocci

9 OCTOBER 2007

The first edition of the Monte Paschi Eroica was a big success. Launched as a side event, it had its debut the day after the 11th edition of L'Eroica. The vice-world champion from Russia, Kolobnev, won the first edition. The pro-riders who participated immediately gave it the thumbs up!

8 MARCH 2008

Moved to March, with the aim of opening the cycling season and to a Saturday to appeal to television audiences, the Monte Paschi Eroica immediately became a great cycling classic. The final sprint saw Cancellara prevail over Ballan, respectively winners of Roubaix and Flanders. Completing the podium was Cunego, another big name. Paolo Bettini, in the rainbow jersey, also paid tribute to a young but great race. 

7 MARCH 2009

In 2009, RCS changed the name of its event in order to distinguish the two Eroicas. The new name would be "Strade Bianche", in a tribute to the roads that Eroica was born to safeguard. The idea was to strengthen the message of protecting this special heritage, which is unique to the Siena countryside. However, Mother Eroica, its ideas, its world of passionate volunteers and good country people, slowly drifted into the background.

8 MARCH 2014

In the 2015 edition, the "Strade Bianche" became Eroica Pro but the Eroica brand was now strong, making it difficult for the two to co-exist. Indeed, the last edition of the Strade Bianche Eroica took place in 2016 without any Eroica involvement and the starting line was moved to the fortress in Siena.


2007 1 Aleksandr Kolobnev / 2 Marcus Ljungqvist / 3 Mychajlo Chalilov

2008 1 Fabian Cancellara / 2 Alessandro Ballan / 3 Linus Gerdemann

2009 1 Thomas Lovkvist / 2 Fabian Wegmann / 3 Martin Elmiger

2010 1 Maksim Iglinskij / 2 Thomas Lövkvist / 3 Michael Rogers

2011 1 Philippe Gilbert / 2 Alessandro Ballan / 3 Damiano Cunego

2012 1 Fabian Cancellara / 2 Maksim Iglinskij / 3 Oscar Gatto

2013 1 Moreno Moser / 2 Peter Sagan / 3 Rinaldo Nocentini

2014 1 Michał Kwiatkowski / 2 Peter Sagan / 3 Alejandro Valverde

2015 1 Zdeněk Štybar / 2 Greg Van Avermaet / 3 Alejandro Valverde

2016 1 Fabian Cancellara / 2 Zdeněk Štybar / 3 Gianluca Brambilla